Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Northern Mariana Islands
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Northern Mariana Islands. Please scroll down to view.

The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands consists of 15 islands in the northwestern area of the Pacific Ocean. The Northern Mariana Islands is part of the Mariana Island Chain which also includes the independent country of Guam in the southern portion of the chain. The Northern Mariana Islands are a commonwealth of the United States and residents of these islands are U.S. citizens.

The 15 islands only account for 184 square miles of land mass and there are around 54,000 people who reside within these islands. A majority of the residents of the islands live on the three larger islands. The islands are often referred to as Saipan in reference to the largest island. The use of this name was very popular during the World War II era.

The Northern Mariana Islands currently celebrate 14 public holidays. These include the 9 national holidays celebrated in the mainland United States as well as 5 holidays that are specific to the islands.

Public holidays in the Northern Mariana Islands are non-working holidays. Employers are not required to provide pay for these days unless it is specified in the work contract. Employees who are required to work on a non-working holiday are eligible for a day off in lieu for the holiday unless their work contract provides for premium pay on that day. All public holiday laws are regulated under Commonwealth Law 15-37.

The Governor of Saipan reserves the right to declare one-time holidays during the year. These holidays are often reserved for special events. Businesses must comply with any one-time holidays that are stated.

Cultural, Linguistic, and Island Specific Holidays

There are many holidays and celebrations that occur throughout the lislands each year that are based on cultural backgrounds, language groups, or are island specific. Each of these celebrations is significant. However, the government of the Northern Mariana Islands does not acknowledge these celebrations as public holidays. Employers are not required to provide days off for attendance or celebration of these events.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
16 JanMonMartin Luther King Jr Day
20 FebMonPresident's Day
24 MarFriCommonwealth Covenant Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
29 MayMonMemorial Day
4 JulTueIndependence Day
4 SepMonLabor Day
9 OctMonCommonwealth Cultural Day
4 NovSatCitizenship Day
11 NovSatVeterans Day
23 NovThuThanksgiving Day
8 DecFriConstitution Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day