Start Planning

Niue Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Niue and start planning to make the most of your time off.

There are 11 official public holidays celebrated in Niue. One of these holidays is actually a two-day event. Public Holidays are governed under the Niue Public Holidays Act of 1961. This Act has been amended in 1975 and again in 2004. The amended parts of the Act granted additional authority to the Premier of Niue to authorise one-time holidays throughout the year for special occasions.

Public holidays are non-working days and employers are required to provide employees with the day off. If the employee receives pay for these days will depend on any formal contract they have with their employer. If the employee is required to remain at their post due to their position, the employees are entitled to a different day off in lieu of the holiday.

It is not uncommon for the Premier of Niue to declare additional days throughout the year as holidays. This may be for special events taking place on the island or to extend a current holiday. Since the population is so small on this island, it is very easy to declare non-working days with little notice.

Previous Years