Start Planning
Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Solomon Islands and start planning to make the most of your time off.

The Ministry for Home Affairs is charged with establishing public holiday dates each year and declaring one-time public holidays. Each year the Ministry publishes a list of the public holidays at the end of the year for the following year. Included in this list are the dates for the independent public holidays celebrated in each province.

Solomon Islands celebrates nine public holidays each year. In addition to these nine holidays, each province has their own special public holiday that is only celebrated in their area. Many of the public holidays celebrated in Solomon Islands will change in date each year because their celebration dates are based on the lunar cycle.

Public holidays which occur on a Sunday will be celebrated on the following Monday. Holidays which occur on a Saturday remain on that date. All public holidays are considered non-working dates in the country.

It is not unusual for the government of Solomon Islands to declare one-time public holidays during the course of the year. Commemorative days for funerals or national emergencies are the most common reason for a one-time holiday to be declared.

Previous Years