Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Uzbekistan. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Uzbekistan is a landlocked country located in Central Asia. Uzbekistan currently celebrates nine national holidays each year. Several of these celebrations are calculated on a lunar cycle and may fall on a different date each year. The government of Uzbekistan requires all employers to acknowledge these holidays each year regardless of the dates they occur.

The national holidays are regulated by the Constitution of Uzbekistan and employers are regulated under the Uzbek Labour Laws. The constitution provides the president of Uzbekistan with the authority to declare additional holidays each year if desired. The president often declares at least one additional date each year in an effort to create at least one “long holiday” each year.

Persian New Year is often celebrated over several days. However, the government of Uzbekistan only requires employers to acknowledge the last day of the celebration as a national holiday.

A majority of the people of Uzbekistan practice the Muslim faith. Some of the national holidays belong to this faith and their celebration dates are based on the lunar cycle. The Umm al-Qura calendar of Saudi Arabia is used to determine which dates these holidays are celebrated on each year.

Section 77 of the Labour Code of Uzbekistan provides employees with a guaranteed day off for national holidays. However, if employees are paid for national holidays will be determined by their personal employment contracts. No information is currently available if this has changed in any manner. Access to the Uzbek labour code in English is very limited.

It should be noted that there were many additional national holidays that were celebrated in Uzbekistan that were based on holidays celebrated in Russia. However, many of these celebrations stopped when Uzbekistan gained its independence from Russia. Some sources still list these Russian based holidays as national holidays in Uzbekistan, but this is incorrect.

Cultural, Religious, and Regional Based Holidays

Uzbekistan has a diverse culture, with many people still practicing ancient Persian belief systems and celebrating holidays associated with these beliefs. The government of Uzbekistan acknowledges these practices but does not recognise them as national holidays or celebrations.

Additional culturally based celebrations may take place throughout the country. The government does not acknowledge these events as national holidays. Employers are not required to provide special days off for these events.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
8 MarWedInternational Women's Day
21 MarTueNavruz
9 MayTueDay of Memory and Remembrance
25 JunSunEid al-Fitr
1 SepFriIndependence Day
1 SepFriEid al-Adha
1 OctSunDay of Teachers and Instructors
8 DecFriConstitution Day