Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Tokelau. Please scroll down to view.

Tokelau is a small dependent nation that consists of three coral atolls in the South pacific Ocean. Tokelau is a dependent territory of New Zealand and all residents of the island are considered Tokelau citizens as well as New Zealand nationals. Tokelau is very small in size and the three atolls only account for 4.2 square miles of land. There are less than 1,500 people who call these atolls home.

Tokelau is not considered self-governing because they rely on New Zealand for all of their necessities both internally and externally. However, each village within the islands have leaders and these leaders form the General Fono of the country, or the leadership. It is the General Fono which establishes the public holidays celebrated in Tokelau.

Tokelau celebrates 10 public holidays each year. These holidays are specific to the atoll and not to New Zealand. While islanders acknowledge the holidays celebrated in New Zealand, they are not non-working days in the atolls. In addition to the 10 public holidays, each atoll has a specific holiday that they observe as a public holiday that is specific to their island.

Tokelau labour laws are not easily accessible. From available information, however, it is understood that all public holidays are non-working days, but there is no information showing that employees are paid for these days off.

Under Tokelau law, every Sunday is considered a holiday and all businesses should be closed. If a public holiday occurs on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday. If a two day public holiday occurs with one date falling on Sunday, an extra day is added to the celebration on the following Monday or Tuesday. Holidays which occur on a Saturday remain on that date.

Regional and Cultural Holidays

Each year the government council designates two public holidays for each atoll that is celebrated in that area only. These are official public holidays and businesses are required to provide employees a day off for celebration.

Additionally, there are many cultural or island-specific holidays and celebrations that occur throughout the year. Many of these celebrations are based on the Polynesian culture and belief systems. While these cultural events are encouraged, they are not acknowledged as official public holidays.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonSecond Day of New Year
3 JanTueNew Year's Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
8 MayMonMother's Day Holiday
14 AugMonFather's Day Holiday
3 SepSunTokehega Day
9 OctMonDay after White Sunday /
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day