Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Samoa. Please scroll down to view.

The Independent State of Samoa is an island nation consisting of two large islands and four small located in the central Pacific Ocean. Samoa is a different country than American Samoa and was formerly known as Western Samoa. Samoa has a population of about 195,000 people, with most living on the main island of Upolu.

Samoa celebrates 11 public holidays each year. The laws governing public holidays in Samoa also grant the Samoan government the authority to set one-time holidays throughout the year if the occasion arises. In many cases, when a prominent member or former member of government dies a public holiday for mourning is declared.

The labour laws of Samoa have recently changed. Prior to 2008, all businesses except emergency services and pharmacies were required to close on a public holiday. This ensured that everyone was entitled to that day off. For those working emergency services, the government encouraged employers to provide premium pay to the employees or provide a different day off in lieu of the holiday.

New labour laws allow all businesses to remain open on public holidays if they desire. This is due to the increase in tourism on the islands. Businesses are now required to offer their employees a day off in lieu of the holiday if the employee must work on that date. It is up to the employer through their work contract if the employees receive premium pay for working on those dates or if the days are paid non-working holidays.

Holidays which occur on a Sunday are celebrated on the following Monday. If a two day holiday occurs on a Sunday, the holiday is celebrated on the following Monday and Tuesday. Saturdays are normal working days in Samoa and any holiday which occurs on a Saturday remains on that date.

The government of Samoa releases an official public holiday list of dates at the end of each year for the new year. Businesses are required to follow these dates once published.

Cultural and Island Specific Holidays

Cultural based celebrations take place throughout the year on each of the islands in Samoa. Many of these events are based on the history of the Samoan people and their Polynesian ancestry. Some of these cultural celebrations are specific to a certain island or group of people on the islands.

The government of Samoa acknowledges and encourages these cultural celebrations. However, the government does not recognise these celebrations as public holidays and employers are not required to provide any special benefits for these events.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year's Holiday
3 JanTueNew Year's Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
15 AprSatEaster Saturday
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
15 MayMonMother's Day Holiday
1 JunThuIndependence Day
14 AugMonFather's Day Holiday
9 OctMonLotu a Tamaiti
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day