Start Planning

Micronesia Public Holidays 2017

Today – 25 November 2017 – is not a holiday in Micronesia.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Micronesia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
31 MarFriMicronesian Culture and Traditions Day
10 MayWedFederal States of Micronesia Day
24 OctTueUnited Nations Day
3 NovFriIndependence Day
10 NovFriVeterans of Foreign Wars Holiday
11 NovSatVeterans of Foreign Wars Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day

Public holidays are regulated under the Section 603 of Title 1 of the Codes of the Federated States of Micronesia and further affirmed by Public Law 13-38 2004. This law establishes that the government of the Federated States of Micronesia has the authority to establish or create public holidays either permanently or as one-time events.

Employers are required to provide employees with a day off from work on all national holidays. Holidays which fall on a Saturday are celebrated on the prior Friday. Holidays that occur on a Sunday are celebrated on the following Monday. This applies to all national holidays and not regional dates. Each region has the authority over their distinct holidays.

Each of the regions has specific holidays that are recognised by the government as public holidays. These holidays are treated just like regular holidays, but only for that island or group of islands. Some of these areas have up to 8 additional public holidays each year.