Start Planning
Federal States of Micronesia Day

Federal States of Micronesia Day 2025 and 2026 in Micronesia

Micronesia commemorates its independence on 10 May with the observance of Federal States of Micronesia Day, which is also the nation’s national day. The holiday commemorates the day in 1986 when Micronesia became 100% independent.

202510 MaySatFederal States of Micronesia Day
202610 MaySunFederal States of Micronesia Day
Please scroll down to end of page for previous years' dates.

Micronesia is a four-state federation, consisting of Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrai. Each island and region of what is today Micronesia has its own rich history and culture that goes back hundreds of years.

The modern history of Micronesia began with the Spanish conquest during the 19th Century. After Spain’s defeat in the Spanish-American War, Spain quickly sold the islands to Germany in 1899. The area was then captured by Japan during World War I. And after World War II, they became a US Trust Territory.

Also included in this Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands were Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, and Marshall Islands, but these chose not to join the federation of Micronesia, which was formed in 1979. In 1986, the newly formed union became independent but chose to remain in free association with the United States nonetheless.

Previous Years

202410 MayFriFederal States of Micronesia Day
202310 MayWedFederal States of Micronesia Day