Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Cook Islands
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Cook Islands. Please scroll down to view.

The Cook Islands is an island country that is located in the South pacific. Consisting of 15 islands that are spread out over 849,000 square miles of ocean, the Cook Islands only have a total land mass of 92 square miles. Although the Cook Islands are considered an independent country, they have a working arrangement with New Zealand, and Cook Islanders are considered New Zealand citizens. However, New Zealand citizens are not automatically considered Cook Islanders.

The people of the Cook Islands celebrate 11 national holidays each year. Many of these holidays are the same as those celebrated in New Zealand. Under the Public Holidays Act of 1999, and the Employment Relations Act of 2012, employees are entitled to receive a day off with pay for all nationally recognised holidays. If an employee is required to work on the holiday, they are to receive a pay rate of twice their normal wages for that day or payment for that day and another paid day off in lieu of the holiday.

The Office of the Prime Minister regulates the national holidays in the Cook Islands and retains the authority to add one-time holidays for special events. The Office has, in the past, added holidays throughout the year in order to extend weekend celebrations or to allow for voting. These holidays are to be recognised by all employers for that one occasion only.

The Prime Minister’s office will release the dates of official holidays at the end of each year for the upcoming year. Since some of these holidays are based on the lunar cycle and change in dates each year, the government requests that all employers acknowledge those days as holidays each year, regardless of what day they occur.

All holidays which occur on a Sunday are celebrated on the following Monday. Until 2012, Sunday was considered a holiday and people were not required to work on that day. However, it is now legal to work on Sundays. Since a majority of businesses still remain closed on Sundays because of tradition, all holidays are moved to the next working day for the benefit of the employees.

Regional and Cultural Holidays

Although the Cook Islands have a national Gospel holiday, each of the islands has designated their own special holiday that honours the Gospels. The government of the Cook Islands recognises that these holidays occur in each region and each region can treat that date as a public holiday with all benefits in that area only.

Special cultural or religious holidays occur throughout the Islands at all times during the year. These celebrations are not officially recognised by the government of the Cook Islands and employers do not have to provide any special benefits to employees to attend these events.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year's Day Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
25 AprTueANZAC Day
5 JunMonThe Sovereign's Birthday
7 JulFriRa o te Ui Ariki
4 AugFriConstitution Day
26 OctThuNational Gospel Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day