Start Planning

Tuvalu Public Holidays 2017

Today – 25 November 2017 – is not a holiday in Tuvalu.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Tuvalu. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
13 MarMonCommonwealth Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
15 AprSatHoly Saturday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
8 MayMonGospel Day
10 JunSatQueen's Birthday
7 AugMonNational Children's Day
1 OctSunTuvalu Day
2 OctMonTuvalu Day Holiday
3 OctTueTuvalu Day Holiday
13 NovMonPrince of Wales' Birthday
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

Tuvalu celebrates 11 public holidays each year. These holidays are non-working holidays and are regulated under the Public Holiday Act of Tuvalu. Public holiday laws state that any holiday that falls on a Saturday or Sunday shall be automatically observed on the following Monday.

The only exception to this law is if the public holiday is October 2 or December 26. If either of these days fall on a Sunday, the law states that the following Monday and Tuesday shall be observed as public holidays.

Each of the islands or atolls are also given a public holiday that is specific to their island. These celebrations are only acknowledged on these islands.

Tuvalu law states that all public holidays are non-working days. If an employee needs to work due to the nature of their job, they are only permitted to work for two hours prior to 8 am or for two hours after 4 pm on the holiday. Businesses which do not comply with this law are given a fine by the government.

The government of Tuvalu is also granted the right in their Public Holiday Laws to authorise one-time public holidays for whatever reason they believe is necessary. It is not unusual for one or more of these one-time holidays to occur each year. The government publishes the official dates for the eleven holidays and separate island holidays at the end of each year for the following year.