Start Planning
Christmas Island

Christmas Island Public Holidays 2017

Today – 25 November 2017 – is not a holiday in Christmas Island.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Christmas Island. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
26 JanThuAustralia Day
28 JanSatChinese New Year
30 JanMonChinese New Year Holiday
31 JanTueChinese New Year Holiday
20 MarMonLabour Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
25 AprTueAnzac Day
26 JunMonHari Raya Puasa
2 SepSatHari Raya Haji
2 OctMonTerritory Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

Christmas Island currently celebrates 11 national holidays. In accordance with Australian law, employees are entitled to receive a paid day off for the observance of these dates. If the employee cannot take the day off due to the nature of their position, a special pay rate or paid day off in lieu of the holiday must be provided to the employee.

Holiday laws are governed under the Public and Banking Holidays Act of 1972 for Western Australia. Section 7 of this Act directly applies to the territory of Christmas Island. An official list of dates for public holidays is published each November for the following year by the Territory government in the Government Gazette.

Holidays which occur on a weekend may be moved to the following Monday. This all depends on how the holidays will be celebrated in Western Australia. Some holidays, such as ANZAC Day will always be moved to the following Monday if it occurs on the weekend.

Visit for the original release.