Start Planning
Saint Pierre Chanel
Wallis-et-Futuna

Saint Pierre Chanel 2021, 2022 et 2023 en Wallis-et-Futuna

La collectivité d’outre-mer de Wallis et Futuna observe la Saint-Pierre Chanel le 28 avril. Ce jour férié est dédié à la mémoire de Pierre Chanel, prêtre catholique devenu missionnaire dans le Pacifique Sud.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202128 avrilmercrediSaint Pierre Chanel
202228 avriljeudiSaint Pierre Chanel
202328 avrilvendrediSaint Pierre Chanel
202428 avrildimancheSaint Pierre Chanel
Veuillez faire défiler vers le bas de la page pour les dates des années précédentes.

En 1831, Chanel rejoint la Société de Marie et en 1836, il part en mission dans le Pacifique Sud. En 1837, il est missionnaire sur l’île de Futuna. Au départ, il est bien accueilli par les insulaires mais plus tard, leur chef craint que le message que Chanel véhicule ne serve à saper son autorité. Lorsque son propre fils se convertit au catholicisme, le chef envoie des hommes pour le battre à mort, ce qu’ils font.

Chanel meurt en 1841, puis est déclaré martyr en 1889 et canonisé par le pape Pie XII en 1954. Wallis et Futuna reconnaît maintenant officiellement Saint Pierre Chanel comme son saint patron comme il l’est devenu pour toute l’Océanie. La date du 28 avril a été choisie pour le célébrer car il a été tué ce jour-là en 1841.

Pour célébrer la Saint Pierre Chanel, bien des gens de Wallis et Futuna font rôtir un cochon, participent à une fête traditionnelle avec des danses et s’amusent une bonne partie de la journée. Ils peuvent aussi revoir l’histoire et l’héritage de Pierre Chanel ou entendre son nom mentionné lors d’une messe catholique célébrée le 28 avril ou aux alentours.

Les années précédentes

AnDateJournéeJour férié
202028 avrilmardiSaint Pierre Chanel
201928 avrildimancheSaint Pierre Chanel
201828 avrilsamediSaint Pierre Chanel
201728 avrilvendrediSaint Pierre Chanel

Start Planning
Saint Pierre-Chanel Day
Wallis and Futuna

Saint Pierre-Chanel Day 2020, 2021 and 2022 in Wallis and Futuna

The French Overseas Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands observes Saint Pierre-Chanel Day on 28 April. The holiday seeks to honour the memory of Pierre Chanel, a Roman Catholic priest who became a missionary to the South Pacific Region.

YearDateDayHoliday
202028 AprTueSaint Pierre-Chanel Day
202128 AprWedSaint Pierre-Chanel Day
202228 AprThuSaint Pierre-Chanel Day

In 1831, Chanel joined the Society of Mary, and in 1836, he went on a mission in the South Pacific. In the year 1837, Chanel came as a missionary to the island of Futuna. At first, he was welcomed by the locals, but later, the chief feared the message Chanel brought would serve to undermine his own authority. When the chief’s son converted to Roman Catholicism, the chief sent people to club him to death, which they did.

Chanel died in 1841, was declared a martyr in 1889, and was made a Roman Catholic saint by a declaration of Pope Pius XII in 1954. Wallis and Futuna now recognises Saint Peter Chanel as their official patron saint, and he is also the patron saint of the whole of Oceania. The date 28 April was chosen for the holiday because that is the day on which Chanel was killed in 1841.

To celebrate Saint Pierre-Chanel Day, many in Wallis and Futuna will roast a pig, enjoy a full, traditional feast, watch dance performances, and party for much of the day. They may also review the history and legacy of Peter Chanel or hear him mentioned in a Catholic mass on or near to 28 April.