Start Planning

Vanuatu Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Vanuatu and start planning to make the most of your time off.

Vanuatu celebrates 14 national holidays each year. Under the National Holiday Acts legislation, the Office of the President holds the authority to add additional one-time national holidays throughout the year.

The National Holidays Act also gives the government the authority to move holidays that occur on a Sunday to the following Monday for observance. If that Monday is also a holiday, the celebration date is moved to the following Tuesday for an extended holiday period.

The Labor Laws of Vanuatu provide employees with a paid day off for all nationally recognised holidays. If an employee is required to work on the holiday based on their job duties, the government requires that the employee receive a paid day off in lieu of the holiday or the employee is paid at a premium rate for hours worked on the holiday.

Previous Years