Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Pitcairn Islands
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Pitcairn Islands. Please scroll down to view.

The Pitcairn Islands are a group of four volcanic islands located in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. In many cases, Pitcairn is referred to as Pitcairn, Ducie, Oeno and Henderson. However, three of these islands have no inhabitants at all and are often overlooked.

The Pitcairn Islands are spread out over 250square miles of ocean, yet only have a land mass altogether of 18 square miles. Pitcairn, the only inhabited island, is less than three square miles in size.

Pitcairn is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom but is self-governed through an island governor appointed by Her Majesty the Queen. However, the Governor of Pitcairn resides in New Zealand and conducts most governmental affairs from that country for the islands.

Pitcairn is the smallest populated independent country in the world with only 56 residents in the entire country. These residents are all descendants of the mutineers from the famed Bounty ship In the late 1700’s. Several of the mutineers, after they set Captain Bligh adrift, went on to meet and marry Tahitian women and settled on these volcanic islands. Evidence can be found in the surnames still on the island and the legends that are spoken of when anyone gathers.

The residents of Pitcairn celebrate seven public holidays each year. It is unknown if the employees are paid for these days off because there is not any access to the laws governing labour practices on the islands. However, with such a small population, and a work force of only 38 people, it is easy to assume that the day is just a non-working holiday without any additional benefits.

It should be noted that there is one general store on the island, a post office and a library. All other business is generally conducted out of the homes of the residents. These three businesses are only open for one hour a day, three days a week.

Cultural Celebrations

Many of the Tahitian and Polynesian traditions are still celebrated on this tiny island. Although these celebrations would most likely include all residents of the island, it is assumed that all employers are not required to provide days off for these events.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
23 JanMonBounty Day
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
10 JunSatQueen's Birthday
2 JulSunPitcairn Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day