Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Myanmar. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

4 JanWedIndependence Day
12 FebSunUnion Day
2 MarThuPeasants' Day
12 MarSunFull Moon Day of Tabaung
27 MarMonArmed Forces Day
12 AprWedPublic Holiday
13 AprThuMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
14 AprFriMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
15 AprSatMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
16 AprSunMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
17 AprMonMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
18 AprTueMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
19 AprWedMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
20 AprThuMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
21 AprFriMaha Thingyan (Water Festival)
1 MayMonMay Day
10 MayWedFull Moon Day of Kasong
8 JulSatFull Moon Day of Waso
(Beginning of Buddhist Lent)
19 JulWedMartyr's Day
5 OctThuFull Moon Day of Thadingyut
(End of Buddhist Lent)
3 NovFriFull Moon of Tazaungmone
13 NovMonNational Day
18 DecMonKayin New Year
25 DecMonChristmas Day

Public holidays in Myanmar are regulated by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Myanmar officially observes 21 public holidays per year. Entitlement to paid holidays is largely regulated by terms of an employment contract or bargaining agreement.

Many political holidays and observances were established to honor political freedom in many parts of the country. In addition to public holidays, which are paid at normal wages, every employee is entitled to weekly holidays on Saturday and Sunday.