Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Bangladesh. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
21 FebTueShahid Day &
International Mother Language Day
17 MarFriSheikh Mujibur Rahman’s Birthday
26 MarSunIndependence & National Day
14 AprFriBengali New Year's Day
1 MayMonMay Day
10 MayWedBuddha Purnima /
Vesak (Baishakhi Purnima) *
12 MayFriShab-e-Barat *
23 JunFriNight of Destiny / Laylat al-Qadr
23 JunFriJumatul Wida / Jumatul Bidah
25 JunSunEid-ul-Fitr Holiday *
26 JunMonEid-ul-Fitr / Festival of Fastbreaking *
27 JunTueEid-ul-Fitr Holiday *
14 AugMonShuba Janmashtami
15 AugTueNational Mourning Day
1 SepFriEid-ul-Adha Holiday *
2 SepSatEid-ul-Adha / Festival of Sacrifice *
3 SepSunEid-ul-Adha Holiday *
30 SepSatDurga Puja (Bijoya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram/Ashura *
1 DecFriEid-e-Miladun-Nabi / Birth of the Prophet*
16 DecSatVictory Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day

As a predominately Islamic country, the majority of recognized public holidays are based on Islamic culture and religion. Additionally, some key calendar dates of other religions are marked by official public holidays.

Bangladesh also honors several optional holidays throughout the year. Paid time off for the optional holidays are at the discretion of an employment contract or trade union collective bargaining agreement.

Although all employees are legally entitled to 11 paid festival holidays per year, if an employee is required to work on a paid holiday, he or she must be compensated at a rate equal to normal wages, in addition to a “dearment allowance.” This allowance, which is at the discretion of the employer, excludes any accrued vacation, time off or bonus offered by the employer.